Lunch Menu Site Directory Contact Volunteer Partners

Emma Elementary

School Improvement Team
 

Q:  What is the School Improvement Team?

A:  School Improvement Teams are required by North Carolina law to develop school improvement plans.   The team is comprised of the principal of each school; representatives of the assistant principals, instructional personnel, instructional support personnel, and teacher assistants at the school; and parents of children enrolled in the school.  The representatives are elected by their respective groups (such as the PTA/PTO for parents).  

 

The General Assembly of North Carolina views parental involvement as a critical component of school success and positive student achievement and asserts that parents, along with teachers, have a substantial role in developing school improvement plans.  [NC General Statutes �115C-105.27].   Buncombe County Schools encourage and endorse shared decision making as evident in our mission statement, core values, and policy directives.   

 

Q:   When does the School Improvement Team meet, and may I attend the meeting?

A:  School Improvement Teams are considered public bodies and are subject to open meeting laws.  Staff, parents, and community members are always welcome to attend and observe the meetings.  Emma's School Improvement Team meetings are held in the office conference room from 7:00am - 8:00am.  Meeting dates for this school year are posted on Emma's website on the calendar and under the "Upcoming Events" section and in the School Improvement Team section of this website.

 

Q:  How do I communicate a suggestion for school improvement to the group?

A:  You may communicate directly with an individual on the team, come to a scheduled meeting, or send in a request to the entire committee.  Emma Elementary's School Improvement Team includes:

 
 Representative Role Category e-MailYear Elected 
 Jeremy Stowe
  Member Principal  jeremy.stowe@bcsemail.org  Not elected
 Nicole Roberts        Member Assistant Principal nicole.young@bcsemail.org Not Elected
 Susan Cooper 
  Member Grade K
 susan.cooper@bcsemail.org  2011
 Shirley Young
  Chair Grade 1
 shirley.young@bcsemail.org  2011
 Lisa Webb
  Member Grade 2
 lisa.webb@bcsemail.org  2012
 Amy Burton
  Member Grade 3
 amy.burton@bcsemail.org  2012
 Sarah Harris
  Member
 Grade 4
 sarah.beck@bcsemail.org  2014
 Sandra Stanton
  Member Assistants  sandra.stanton@bcsemail.org  2013
 Shirley Humphrey
  Member Counselor  shirley.humphrey@bcsemail.org  Not Elected
 TBD
  Member Parents
 TBD  2014
  Anita Lovejoy
  Member Specialists  anita.lovejoy@bcsemail.org  2011
 TBD
  Member Special Education
 TBD  2014
 Tonya Deweese
  Member Title I
 tonya.deweese@bcsemail.org  Not Elected